Mask of Shadows – ARC Review

Mask of Shadows was written by Linsey Miller I was lucky enough to get an ARC from NetGalley. And I would like to say thank you NetGalley for giving me this book.

Mask of Shadows is a book that is a very interesting book itself. Here is the summary off of Goodreads.

Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and get closer to the upper-class and the nobles who destroyed their home.

When Sal Leon steals a poster announcing open auditions for the Left Hand, a powerful collection of the Queen’s personal assassins named for the rings she wears — Ruby, Emeral, Amethyst, and Opal — their world changes. They know it’s a chance for a new life.

Except the audition is a fight to the death filled with clever circus acrobats, lethal apothecaries, and vicious ex-soldiers. A childhood as a common criminal hardly prepared Sal for the trials. But Sal must survive to put their real reason for auditioning into play: revenge.

Now on several reviews, i read this book one of the strong points of this book was the gender fluidity of the main character. Now I am a girl who really only like guys but I won’t stop you from being you and I hope you don’t yell at me for saying this but, I felt that the gender thing was confusing. Now maybe it will make sense more to other but I did have a hard time saying wither Sal was a girl or a boy. And I like to know. It’s minimal but it was a point of mine.

But besides that point this book was entertaining. The idea of assassins and a test/ contest to see who will be the next one is right up my ally. I really did enjoy the point of view of Sal and just the plot line. I have read a lot of assassin book and this one was pretty good. Not my favorite but I will most likely be buying a copy for my shelves. But also the cover is so pretty.

Now I don’t want you guys to not check this book out, everyone has different minds and what we like and we don’t. Check this book out if you like assassins and well kind of Thorne of glass feel tests and contest feel.

But till next time here at the nook,

E.

This book will be able at book stores and online on August 29th.

Leave a Reply

