Slayer Review

Hey, book dragons! So I got to read one of my most anticipated reads of 2019 a bit early.

Slayer is written Kristin White and is a story that takes us back to the world of Buffy the vampire slayer. Now for myself, I had never watched Buffy but I know some of what this storyline was about. Basically, girl fights vampires and uses wooden stakes. That was it of what I know.  I will say this book did a great job introducing this world as well as the fundamentals of what a Slayer is. Getting Slayer 101 was really interesting, I didn’t feel like it was all dumped on me or that it expects me to know things beforehand. So all in all this book is very friendly to Slayer newbies like me.

34723130.jpg

Into every generation, a Slayer is born…

Nina and Artemis are twins who are born and raised at the Watchers Academy. A place where teens are trained to be guides for slayers, even though Nina’s mom is a prominent member of the watcher council she had never fully embraced the watcher’s ways.

Nina prefers to heal over the violent lifestyle of the watchers. Because of this, she has become the school medic, which isn’t very exciting, to say the least. That is until something happens to change her life forever.

But things are not easy for Nina, thanks to Buffy, she is the newest and last chosen one to ever be aka the last Slayer. Thanks to Leo, she gets to hone her skill, and thanks to a monster fighting ring, a demon who likes happiness for dinner and a shadowy figure present in her dreams her days are far from dull.  Oh, and did I mention a string of murders as well? When her loved ones are next in line Nina learned how hard it really is being chosen. Like they say ” Being Chosen is easy. Making choices is hard.”

So if that does not gets you interested in this story I honestly don’t know what will. The story was well written, the plot of super fun and interesting. The mystery element was well thought through and honestly, I loved the characters. Nina was a character i really enjoyed having a perspective form. She has a heart and a talent for healing which really contradicts the slayer way. And I found it really interesting to see her try and balance both worlds. As well as the fact she has some baggage that is holding her back. Things that really affect her in how she sees herself and her sister and mom. It was great to see her development through this book and I look forward to more slayer books about this girl.

I also enjoyed watching the dynamic of the sisterhood change, and I am interested to see how much more will change in upcoming books.

SO if by now you are still on the fence about this book, trust me here and get your self a copy. It is a well-written story with both interesting character and a good plot line. And best of all in my option it is friendly to newbies to this kind of world.

And best thing yet, today is the release date for Slayer. Go get a copy read it and let me know what you think when you are all done.

A huge thank you to the publisher and to Beth for getting an arc of this book. It has been really hard not to post my review before today, but it is so worth your time. Check it out.

Till next time at the nook!

E.

PS for those of you interested I am hosting a give away on my Instagram ( @a_bookworms_nook ) for a set of pins that go along with the book. Check it out if you want to enter!

 

6 thoughts on “Slayer Review

    • bookwormsnook says:

      Honestly I got really lucky I had worked with her agent before for a different book and she asked if I was interested. But you will like this book I’m sure. If you have an instagram I’m giving away pins that go with the book!

      Liked by 1 person

      • mistysbookspace says:

        I was actually sent some pins. I requested the book and they responded saying they didn’t have any books but they would send me some pins to do a giveaway with. I haven’t done the giveaway yet because I want to include the book with one of the pins but I can’t afford it right now.

        Like

Leave a comment